Four years ago . . .

I can’t believe it’s been nearly four years since Parker’s LTP surgery! Next week will be the anniversary of the surgery date. I have to confess the road we went down after the surgery was not the one we expected. Parker really has a way of taking the slightly more complicated route!

I thought I’d update . . . in a nutshell . . . nine months ago our family moved to Indonesia. Ian’s company asked if he would like to take an opportunity here. First thing we did was look at a map. We had a vague idea where Indonesia was but, embarrassingly, we didn’t know exactly. The second thing we did was call down to Cincinnati Children’s hospital and have some candid conversations with his team. As exciting as this opportunity was for our family, post LTP life wasn’t exactly smooth sailing and we’d really been down to Cincinnati on a 3-6 month basis for the entire four years. Obviously that wasn’t going to be possible if we were living (literally) half way across the world.

Dr. Cotton gave his theoretical blessing, suggested that we would need to come home annually for a scope and asked us to come down one more time before we left for good. Given that every other time we had been there there was always a surprise I held my breath. Honestly, I will not forget the knots in my stomach as I waited for the team to meet me in the post op room. Dr. Cotton came in and said, “See you in three years. Have an amazing time in Indonesia. Come back if you need us, but he looks great and if we don’t see him for three years that is ok.” I couldn’t believe it. Was I hearing this right? The prospect of going three whole years between visits was not really something I could fathom.

So, here we are. Living the life in Jakarta (read more about our experiences here: www.wedancedanyway.com). We packed up and moved around the world.

Parker has almost caught up on his speech. He can be a little breathy. Sometimes his breathing is noisy and I get nervous but then it goes away. He’s learning to swim. It’s a challenge for him to navigate breathing and holding his breath but he manages and gets better every day. I’m still active on the tracheostomy forum. I get emails once in awhile from families who find this blog and have questions about the LTP process. I will never lose the fear that something could happen. Or that his airway will stop growing. Or that HIS kids will have paralyzed vocal cords. But every day that goes by I dwell on those things less and less. And that is a good feeling!

Here’s our man! Blue eyes, red hair, and every bit the pistol that gave the nurses at Cincinnati a run for their money on the airway floor after his surgery. More gray hair will be earned from this child than the other two combined!

1 Response to “Four years ago . . .”


  1. 1 Pam Antalis April 13, 2012 at 2:19 am

    It is wonderful to get a great report on your miracle boy! He looks great!


Leave a Reply

