He Dances . . .

 

On Wednesday evening Parker had his first dance recital. I have to admit, I hope one of my boys takes up dance. I love to dance and really need to get myself signed up for that tap class I keep meaning to take.

He was a fine sight in his costume complete with sparkly bow tie and cumberbund, he did all of his moves and was really into it. All of the kids were great. There was the little boy who cried the entire time and the little girl who wanted to walk off the stage to her mommy and daddy. The pre-k boys did some great break dancing. It is really a fun night to watch all the little ones.

As I watched my little boy dance his heart out I couldn’t help but be a really proud mama. When I think back on his first days I know it was hard to imagine then what life might look like now. We had no idea, truthfully, what the future held. Thankfully, he sings and dances and talks and sasses his mama, just like every little boy should. I really am proud. But there is something more. I have come to realize that each passing milestone and event in Parker’s life will be full of joy and sorrow for me. Joy for him. Sorrow for all the angels we know that won’t ever dance.  And for their moms. For their moms who I’ve laughed with and cried with over the past three years, I shed a special silent tear on Wednesday night.

3 Responses to “He Dances . . .”


  1. 1 Roberta June 5, 2010 at 12:43 am

    I am honored to “know” Parker and your family. It is with great joy we share these wonderful things that Parker can do. We know that for many of our children things like this may never come, but boy of boy are we tickled pick when they do for someone else.

    I believe that all of our children will dance in Heaven…what a day that will be.

    Hugs to you,
    Roberta Merrill and the Simon family.

  2. 2 Karen Austin June 5, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    I love it!!! Parker is a star in the making. I’m sure Parker got his moves from You.

  3. 3 Linden June 7, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    The pictures are wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

    Get signed up for the tap dance class and next time the recital will be a mama and son dance!


Leave a Reply

